Glenorchy has a small museum next to the Library which houses a great collection of photos, stories and some special local artefacts.


The Mt Earnslaw Hotel

We now have a freehold section alongside the Village Green to plan a redevelopment. The new structure will sit behind Butement’s Woolshed ruins and provide a communal space where locals and visitors can learn more of our unique heritage.

The Head of the Lake has a rich and varied history and we plan to capture the best of these stories in a vibrant display area. We also intend to have small ‘outposts’ around Glenorchy and the wider area which encourage visitors to explore our district. 

Earnsalw at Glenorchy Wharf

Earnslaw at Glenorchy Wharf

‘Our story’ includes isolation, sawmilling, farming, gold, scheelite, film, and the ever present tourism. Adventure tourism of the late 1800’s makes today's exploits look tame by comparison!

We are a small but active group which is working through the process of finding a vibrant way to tell our story which is cost effective and of benefit to the entire community.

If you wish to get in touch (or make a donation) please contact:

Leslie van Gelder; ph 027 7489153
Amanda Hasselman; ph 442 9942

Leslie is often at the Museum on a Wednesday, and will happily open by appointment.

Please click on this link to view the YouTube "movie", which was produced by members of the Glenorchy Heritage Museum Group, as a glimpse of the early days of the Glenorchy district, describing farming, scheelite mining, sawmilling, gold mining, community, roads and tourism.