HEAD OF THE LAKE HERITAGE MUSEUM GROUP
Glenorchy has a small museum next to the Library which houses a great collection of photos, stories and some special local artefacts.
We now have a freehold section alongside the Village Green to plan a redevelopment. The new structure will sit behind Butement’s Woolshed ruins and provide a communal space where locals and visitors can learn more of our unique heritage.
The Head of the Lake has a rich and varied history and we plan to capture the best of these stories in a vibrant display area. We also intend to have small ‘outposts’ around Glenorchy and the wider area which encourage visitors to explore our district.
‘Our story’ includes isolation, sawmilling, farming, gold, scheelite, film and the ever present tourism. Adventure tourism of the late 1800’s makes todays exploits look tame by comparison!
We are a small but active group which is working through the process of finding a vibrant way to tell our story which is cost effective and of benefit to the entire community.
If you wish to get in touch (or make a donation) please contact:
Elaine will happily open the museum at any time.